New Opportunities On The Horizon!

Today I had an interview with a recruiter!

The company is called Addison Group and they’re a staffing agency located in Downtown Chicago. My recruiter in particular has worked with fellow Columbia College graduates with similar backgrounds to mine.

She asked me how long I’ve been searching for a job, what kind of jobs I’ve been applying for and if I’m looking for full-time or part-time. I loved how honest I was able to be, because she’s trying to steer me in the best direction possible. She is going to send my resume to GrubHub because of my food background, but they aren’t hiring at the moment so that might take awhile to hear back. Addison Group offer two types of employment, such as contract jobs and contract-to-hire. The recruiter came to her own conclusion that I need something full-time and contract-to-hire.

The end result? My resume is being delivered to a company called CoStar that is affiliated with Apartments.com. I would be working Downtown and close to the train station if I get it. I’d also be making $1.50 more than what I’m making now and working Monday-Friday with weekends off.

I’m so excited for this opportunity and it’s all thanks to a customer of mine. Even if CoStar falls through, I’ll have plenty of other options because I have now put my job hunt in the hands of another. What a wonderful feeling.

I have to check in with her next Monday for an update and if all goes well, I’ll just have to complete a phone interview and a background check. I’ll work with the company for 90-140 days and then…I’m a permanent full-time employee.

My adult job is closer than ever.

Leave a Reply

